My Crush on Master Chief John James Urgayle

I watched G.I. Jane last night for the first time in a long time. Mary Kate used to watch it a lot in college. The plot revolves around a tough chick (Demi, obviously) who kicks a lot of arse, so it’s right up Mary Kate’s alley. The movie doesn’t make me want to shave my head or anything (because only women like Demi Moore can pull off that look), but it does make me want to work out a bunch and get lady-beastly. There’s something about a woman who can hold her own, you know?

Great movie aside, I also have kind of a crush on Viggo Mortensen’s character, Master Chief John James Urgayle. First of all, that mustache…

…and those short shorts…

…only 1997 Viggo could pull those off. Total ’90’s hunk.

Second of all, the man runs the brutal training program for the Navy SEALS. So he’s a badass.

Third, and most importantly, he quotes poetry to the trainees on Day 1. D. H. Lawrence’s Self-Pity:

I never saw a wild thing
sorry for itself.
A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough
without ever having felt sorry for itself.

That’s the whole reason for this post: this poem really gets me, and the fact that Viggo – I mean, Master Chief – quotes it so early on is just…mmph.

So that’s all I’ve got. Happy Hump Day, yo.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My Crush on Master Chief John James Urgayle

  1. Keep the poem and the shorts, lose the mustache. Don’t dig on facial hair.

Leave a Reply

