Top Five Songs I’m Listening To On Repeat Right Now

There are certain TV shows and movies I usually end up watching when I’m sick. For example, I think we can all agree on The Price Is Right. One of my other favorites is the movie High Fidelity, a film adaptation of the Nick Hornby novel (read it. Side note: the book is almost always better than the movie.) The movie stars John Cusack, Jack Black, Catherine Zeta-Jones, and Lisa Bonet, among others. One of the things the main character Rob Fleming (Cusack) does is make Top Five lists: Top Five Memorable Breakups, Top Five Dream Jobs, Top Five Things I Miss About Laura, Top Five Songs To Play On A Monday Morning . . . you get the drift.

Anyway, I got to thinking about that movie and book and how I love them, and I felt like building a Top Five Songs I’m Listening To On Repeat Right Now. Creative, yes? Some are new-ish, some have been out for awhile, some are downright old at this point. But what they have in common is that they’ve all been earworms for me. So, here we go . . .

1. The Avett Brothers – “Another Is Waiting”
(Heard it on 87.7 a few weeks ago as I arrived at work. By the time I’d gotten to my desk, I couldn’t remember enough lyrics to Google it. Thank goodness the afternoon deejay, Rachel Steele, played it and told me who the artist was.)

2. Gary Moore – “Still Got The Blues”
(Blues fans, if you haven’t heard any Gary Moore, you’re missing out. I remember listening to Gary Moore with my dad when I was five-ish. Better yet, create a Gary Moore Pandora station. I promise, you’ll love it.)

3. Porcupine Tree – “Normal”
(A band that comes up consistently on one of my Pandora stations.)

4. Flyleaf – “All Around Me”
(Reminds me of Paramore. Add Lacey Mosley to my list of female lead singer crushes. Top Five coming soon 😉 )

5. Keane – “Somewhere Only We Know”
(Come on. It’s beautiful.)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Top Five Songs I’m Listening To On Repeat Right Now

    • Oh, thanks! I’m actually not sick – I was just thinking about the movie, which I usually watch whenever I’m sick. I probably should have made that more clear. But I accept well-wishes anytime 😉

  1. You are so much cooler than I am. My top 5 are basically One Direction and Call Me Maybe.

Leave a Reply

