Road Trip

I usually hate to drive.
I have this continual fear
that I might end up so lost,
I’ll never find my way
to where I wanted to be.
I’d rather someone else
bear the burden
of reaching the destination.
The driver maps the course.
The driver chooses the journey.
The driver must, at some point, park.
And I’ve been in the driver’s seat
for a very long stretch of highway.
So let me be the passenger.
Let me stare out the window without a care.
Let me notice the things I’ve never had the freedom
to see before.
Let me watch everything but the road.
Let me relinquish control –
for once, I’m willing.
Drive me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

