Casual Affair

“Shit. I left my necklace on your nightstand.”
“I’ll grab it if you want to swing back.”

I pull the car up the snowy drive
for the second time.
He holds it out ā€”
the charm that says “wisdom” ā€”
and drops it into my open hand.
“‘Wisdom’ my ass,” he laughs and smiles.
I smile and mutter thanks or maybe sorry
and get back into the car.

The neckace clinks in my pocket,
and I remember what I said to him
before I left the first time –
that this would be the last time.

Wiser, I hope,
and drive home.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

