For Better Or Worse

I’m not sure about the beginning –

that I’d done my homework in advance

to show I’d listened

and that I knew at least some small detail.

But I’m fairly certain about the rest.

A better woman wouldn’t have told you

all the truth of her mind,

at least not so quickly.

A worse woman would have pretended

just to agree with you about it all,

or to pretend your word was gospel.

A better woman would have watched herself,

been more reserved in gaze and movement.

A worse one wasn’t worried

about touching your fingers

as she shared the glass with you,

or about touching up her makeup

in the restroom mirror

while we waited for the next round.

A better woman wouldn’t have felt pride

when the younger couple next to us

asked if it was our first time in the city.

A worse woman would have pulled you

off that elevator

and kissed you,

that glass still in your hands,

consequences be damned.

A better woman wouldn’t have fallen for you,

the possibility being nearly nothing.

A worse one did, regardless.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment